Loving my Lululemon

I had just updated my status on Facebook that I have dropped a total of 30 lbs since I consciously decided to make a change.

Back in April, I went to a family wedding in Taiwan. I’m not sure how much I actually weighed back then, but I felt like I had exploded. The flight to Taiwan/Hong Kong not only made my feet and ankles swell, but the rest of my body (so I thought). Everything looked wrong. I looked wrong – I lost all my curves. I felt like I was expanding like Aunt Marge from Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.

I was embarrassed to have attended the wedding looking like this. Seeing my extended family (for a mini family reunion) and be double the size that I thought or felt I was.

I have dealt with my weight issues all my adult life, plus having a baby (7+ years ago) I had tried it all. From Jenny Craig/Weight Watchers. Herbal Magic and wishful thinking. But I knew what I needed to do. So I bit the bullet, contacted a nutritionist. I knew that weight loss was 80% what you eat and 20% exercise.

The nutritionist couldn’t take me as a new patient until June, so in the meantime, I cut out processed foods (as much as I could) and pop.

I should add that not long after this photo was taken, I went to try on bridesmaid dresses for a wedding that I was a part of for later that year, and I was fitted into a size 22!

I was finally able to meet with the nutritionist [June 21st, 2010], had my intake and assessment and I followed her recommendations the best that I could. I then hired a personal trainer. I started with her July 22. By that time I had dropped 12 lbs just by changing what I ate. After 3 sessions, I had to leave for a family vacation for 3 weeks. During that time, although I was only able to keep up my workout for the first week away, and was on my new food plan 50% of the time, I dropped another 8lbs by the time I returned home.

I set a goal, to lose as much as I could for the wedding of my friend, which was Oct 4th and therefore I had 5 weeks to pull it off. The trainer asked me to commit to walking at least 3 days a week for 10-20 mins. And I managed to do 3-5 days a week for 30-60 mins. We met 2 times a week until the wedding. I had lost inches but maintained the 20lbs down. I’d say that my dress size had to around a size 16 (although it was custom altered)

Of course I kept going. My ultimate goal is to be around 150 lbs and a size 6-8 (or any single digit dress size is fine).

30 lbs lighter30 lbs lighter Here I am today – 7 1/2 months later and a total of 30 lbs lighter. I’m a little over half way to my goal. And most of my loss is in my mid section. My pant size hasn’t changed, but I am in a Medium/Large for my tops (instead of XL-XXL) and the top that I am wearing here is a Lululemon and it’s a size 8!

A friend ask me how I was feeling about this milestone. At first, I didn’t feel any different. But now, I feel like I have accomplished something big. So even though I might not official be a size 8, thank to Lululemon’s top, I feel that I am.

[Previous posts Nutritionist and Committing to a New Lifestyle]

5 thoughts on “Loving my Lululemon

  1. Who cares what the label says, you look fantastic! And pleased with yourself as well you should.

  2. You’re right. In the end, it will be how good I feel and not the number on the scale or the size on the outfit. I think that it’s because we’re so used to hearing people measure by those numbers

  3. Doris, YOU ARE AWESOME~!!

    You know, your personality outshines the size of clothing you wear by a million miles!!! At our wedding, we thought you looked great!!! And when we had our reception in Seattle, we had so much fun together!!! But I guess maintaining a healthy lifestyle is the most important goal to reach no matter what size we are all at. Both of us will help you “add gas” anytime when you feel like a boost in energy and mentally!!!

Leave a Reply

