These are a few of my favourite…Apps

I’m dedicating this post to my favourite apps that I have for my iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad. [None of these are sponsored by the developer. I had bought and tried all of them]

iPhone/iPod Touch Apps: (some of these require 4G iPod Touch and/or running iOS4)

Momento $2.99 It’s been years since I have written in a Diary or Journal. Momento is a great solution to log almost everything that I post online. From my blog posts to my tweets. All this and it’s password protected.

Nike + GPS $1.99 In light of my goal to get fit and be healthier, my trainer asked me to commit to walking a minimum of 3 times a week. I wanted to track my distance so I first used the free Nike+ that comes with all iPods and iPhone. But that requires the transponder that you put in/on your shoe (an extra $15). This app doesn’t require any special transponder. Just put it in your pocket or attached it on yourself and off you go. It maps my route, log the distance, time etc and tells me how much calories I burned. It rocks. And just recently, they did add a heart rate monitor that you can buy $69.95 and it will really tell you your stats.

ZipList Free No matter how many cookbooks I own (and I have a lot) and apps from Jamie Oliver or Martha Stewart, I will still hop on my computer and do a quick search online. ZipList helps me keep all those recipes in one place and it will automatically create shopping lists for me for FREE. You can also share your recipe box with family and friends. So if you want your significant other to pick up some items, you can get them to look up your list thought this app. Free to register an account on their website.

Skype Free If you have access to Wifi you can make calls from both your iPhone or iPod Touch. It’s works great. I’ve called from Starbucks to my family in Hong Kong at no extra charge!

BudPhone Free Make long distance calls as long as you calling from and to the cities listed on their website (more cities are being added). Your number still appears on the call display at the other end. This is operated by FreePhoneLine.ca They also have a desktop app where you can register for a dedicated and permanent number. With this, you have a free follow-me number with voicemail (that emails you the messages). So, until Google Voice comes to Canada, this is a great free way to make calls. {also available on Android and Blackberry phones}

Trip Journal $2.99 (and they have a free version of Trip Journal) It is exactly as it’s called, a travel journal. It will map out where you’re going. You can add points of interest with notes and photos. Then at the end of your trip you can share it all through Facebook, with their free TripJournal Facebook App. {also available on Android and Symbian phones}

iPad only Apps: The UI and design of the below apps is the eye candy that makes me love having my iPad

Lifelike Craig $1.99 A different way to browse Craigslist ads. Set up like a newspaper, you can mark your favourite posts with a red marker like circle.

Lifelike Cards $1.99 It’s like browsing postcards at a tourist shoppe while on vacation. This app gets the images from Flickr. You can have it pull random images, or by category. You can send these “postcards” to family and friends.

Early Edition $4.99 Takes the RSS feeds, and displays in newspaper style. Easily to organize with folders and easy to share to Twitter, Delicious, Facebook, or email it.

The Feed Free Unlike Early Edition, it takes its feed from your Google Reader only.

Flipboard Free First to come out with a visual way to see your Twitter feeds. It takes the websites, photos etc and puts it on the page with the tweet so that you don’t need to click to a website.

TweetMag $4.99 Another way to appreciate your Twitter feeds

Made for iPad and iPhone/iPod Touch:

Zinio Free Just in time for the de-cluttering of my home, I had subscribed to 80% of print magazine through their desktop app. Prices for annual subscriptions are same or less than subscribing to the print version. Then came their iPhone/iPad app. I can keep all my magazines with me or download them with any WiFi connection. You can read them like a magazine, or just the text only. Some magazines, like MarieClaire (US) have interactive bonus. Just check out the December 2010 issue with Emma Watson – she’s moving on the cover (like they do in The Daily Prophet in the Harry Potter series).

BlogPress $2.99 For posting to my blogs on Blogger and here on WordPress. You can also post to MSN Live Spaces, MovableType, TypePad, Live Journal, Drupal, Joomla, Tumblr, SquareSpace and My Opera.

Delivery Status Touch, a package tracker $2.99 with a free Desktop Widget. I use this app on all my devices (as well as my laptop) to track the parcels being sent to my clients from my overseas office and back again.
1Password by Agile Wed Solutions They have a Pro version for $14.99 which is for both your iPhone/iPod + iPad. If you only have one or the other mobile devices, there is 1Password for iPhone or 1Password for iPad at $9.99 each. The 1Password3 Desktop version is $39.99 for a single licence and $59.95 for  Family licence (up to 5). Originally, I had purchased the desktop software to help me remember everything I have in my wallet. With all the points cards available (and obviously I have) and the multiple passwords that I need to remember, it was the best solution. Now they have the App for the mobile devices (which also includes Android), you can carry all the info with you. You can also sync all your devices via WiFi or through the free Dropbox service. It will also help you create passwords if you need to make it more difficult than your child’s birthday or your sweetheart’s nickname.

PDFReaderPro $0.99 This is a great app for downloading, saving and reading PDF files. For example, after misplacing the manual for the new Food Processor that I got, I was able to find it online, download it, and read it on my iPad, while flipping to the recipe at the same time

Kobo Free An eBook reader app with many titles to purchase. But the bonus is that you can also borrow eBooks from the library (in this case I’m making the link to the Toronto Public Library, since I’m in Toronto).

Kindle Free {also available on Android and Blackberry phones} Obviously the same as Kobo, there can be more titles available through Kindle Store. Also there are times where I find that the price is significantly less than other eBook Store.

I hope that you find these quick summary and reviews helpful. These are the apps that I use regularly. Maybe I’ll post the game apps next time.

*I will write a separate post for Photo and Video Apps.

[Update – I should add that I have only Apple computers at home. I try to provide links for all platforms that are available, but sometime it might be Mac centric – sorry*]

3 thoughts on “These are a few of my favourite…Apps

  1. Holy cow, that is a great list!! Not in a million years could I have compiled such a comprehensive list, and I can’t wait to explore your suggestions, Thanks!

    • Thanks! I ended up spending the last couple of days compiling all the links and it took a lot longer than I expected. But I thought that this was another way of giving props to the developers of these great apps.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention These are a few of my favourite…Apps | doris*days -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

