Blissdom Canada ’10 and Blissdom ’11

I was a late registrant to Blissdom Canada’10. I had heard about Blissdom prior to it coming to Canada from a few blogger that I follow. I never thought of going to a conference for myself until I noted that a lot of the Tweeters that I follow (from Canada) were going to Blissdom Canada.

So I missed the early bird registration when it was a good price, and to make it more difficult, I had to go on a wait list (which I thought was a cruel way of saying that you’re not going to make it this year). I really didn’t think that it was for me until I got the email (and a phone call) giving me a 48-hr window to register as my name came up on the wait list.

Without hesitation, I registered (although the extra $100 really hurt). After tweeting that I was going to Blissdom, I approach a techy mum from [my daughter’s] school yard that I had been socializing since Spring of this year. I asked if she had heard of Blissdom and if she is going, and she tells me that not only is she going, she’s a speaker and she was one of the people that approached the ladies from Blissdom to bring it up to Canada.

It took a lot of juggling with babysitting, but I finally made it to almost every event. Wished that I could listen to all the sessions. But I got a lot out of the ones that I heard. There were amazing speakers. There were inspiring and encouraging ladies there. It was a great time.

After the three days, and “following” as many ladies as I could on twitter that I met, I started to “engage” as Scott Stratten said in his keynote speech. But by Monday, life was back to normal, I had to get my daughter to school, I had to play catch up with work and I’m still trying to find time to work on …. myself.

Then I think about where I came from. That I have been working hard all year on personal improvement. For the first part of the year, I had been figuring it all out. By mid-year, I had found a nutritionist, (six-wks later) a personal trainer, I de-cluttered my storage of all baby/toddler stuff for a Mom-2-Mom sale. So I’m on the road to my goal.

One2One Network is having a Blissdom ’11 Conference Giveaway, where the grand prize is an all expense paid trip. With the conference in August ’11, it would be a nice way to celebrate my first year working towards a more blissful life.

I don’t think that I’ll be able to go to any more out of town conferences in the next year without contest like this. So wish me luck.

One thought on “Blissdom Canada ’10 and Blissdom ’11

Leave a Reply

