143 days to go

I had given myself 2 weeks to get into the swing of things to start losing 20lbs in 20 weeks. I need to start losing a pound a week starting this Sunday. To my dismay, I hopped on the scale and I found that I was 10lbs heavier than [what I remember] my last weigh-in.

I know, I know, some of you are saying that I shouldn’t weigh myself. But it’s hard to set a goal that I can track (especially for this blog). And I do have an final goal of getting down to 150lb, so this mini goal is just getting me closer to my final goal.

But, I’ll be honest, what I really want is to be in a size 8 and be healthy and happy, and keep up with my daughter sooner than later. So for my ultimate goal, I’m giving myself at least a year, but I’m not going to beat myself up if it takes me two years.

So, from the time that I had returned from Hong Kong/Taiwan a month ago, I can say that I now fit in my size 16 jeans without the major bulge that I had before I left on my trip at the beginning of April.

Since I last updated posts here, I have been going to my Zumba class every week (and I do the whole one hour class) and my Salsa Aerobic class every week (except last Wednesday). I’ve increased my water intake to 6-8 glasses a day [to my goal of 3 litres] and I have switched to decaf coffee (with the occasional half-caf Americano). I’ve cleaned out my cupboards, fridge and freezer. I’m still working on cutting out the processes food. So in the interim (as I am not set yet to cook everything from scratch), I’m reading the ingredient lists – if there is anything that I don’t know, or have food colouring or preservatives, I won’t buy it. I am trying to not eat Dim Sum or any fast food anymore. And definitely no more carbonated drinks.

My next game plan is to plan my meals and when I eat. I think that the “eating smaller amounts more frequently” is the way to go. One of my biggest problems is that I forget to eat. So scheduling it will help my body get into the new habit. Of course, my next biggest problem is how much I love breads/pastries.

One battle at a time.

Leave a Reply

