Something to Write About

Part of the reason why I haven’t been blogging lately is because I realized that Blogs need to be about something.  And it’s not just suppose to be just about things that I have on my mind.

I recently saw Julie and Julia with Meryl Streep and Amy Adams.  I loved it!  It’s about a writer (or want to be writer) that cooked her way through Julia Child’s cookbook in a year and blogged about it.

It got me thinking that I needed something to write about. And now, I think that I figured it out. I’m going to write about how I am going to try NOT to buy anything for the next year while I use up everything that I have around my home and what I have in storage at my father’s house.  This excludes the essentials (like food and toiletries) and clothes for my daughter.

The idea came to me today, when I was looking for an old pair of boots.  I realized that I have A LOT of stuff – perfectly good stuff – in storage.  It’s not doing anything… just sitting around. I already had the intension of cleaning out the storage, and sorting through everything.  But I didn’t just want to throw everything out or give away things.  I wanted to sell it or re-use it or “up-cycle” it. And, finding this mound of stuff daunting, I realized that all I can do is go through everything one box at a time.  That’s when I was reminded of the movie, Julie and Julia, and how Julia cooked a recipe or two at a time, but finished in a years time.

So, that’s what I am going to do. A year from now, I’m going to get from under the clutter and hopefully with less stuff and more money (after not spending all year and hopefully selling off the stuff that I have).

Wish me luck

Leave a Reply

